Desperately Seeking Stormtroopers

I’m planning my very first book launch event and there is one very crucial ingredient that I am convinced I must have…Stormtrooper Girl

Yep, I need Stormtroopers! Short ones, tall ones, male ones, female ones…I’m not too picky about those particulars. I just really want a Stormtrooper (or two) to make an appearance at my book launch event in the Atlanta Metro Area. I want my trooper to pose for pictures (lots of pictures) and to lure any curious, Star Wars-loving readers into my orbit.

In case you don’t know, this is not an impossible thing to ask. Why? Because there is an entire garrison of Stormtroopers living here in Georgia (122 active members to be exact). They have a website with a roster of member costumes posted online. Check it out!

Aren’t they wonderful?!?!

Unfortunately, the Vader’s Fist 501st Legion website says I’m supposed to to submit a request for an appearance 2-3 months before my event. As of today, my event is a little less than 8 weeks away. But I’m still requesting!

I’m not allowed to pay, which is a very good thing for me because I don’t have a big Stormtrooper budget. I am allowed to make a charitable donation. That’s easy enough. But what else can I do to sweeten the deal? Give them a signed copy of the book? Buy them a drink after the event? Give them some droids to look for? Seriously, if you own or have access to an excellent Stormtrooper costume, tell me what I need to do to get your iconic white, glossy personage to my event.

Note: Of course I would also love, love, love to welcome a room full of Jedi, Sith, Rebel pilots, driods, bounty hunters and other characters to any of my book events, but seriously…

I WANNA, GOTTA HAVE A STORMTROOPER!!!

photo credit: JD Hancock via photopin cc

3 thoughts on “Desperately Seeking Stormtroopers

  1. Excited your book is almost ready to meet the world! Good for you. Hopefully you will let me know when it is out and buyable.

Leave a comment